An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain the reason for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue states that an ailing patient should get access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients so that the patient can determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the medical condition or not. I agree with this statement because patients have their lives depending on the doctor so they should get access to the doctor's record.

A doctor studies hard to become a doctor. But if he cannot treat patients properly and makes mistakes repeatedly then the lives of patients is at risk. If a doctor is genuinely good at his work and at treating patients then he should not have any problem in showing his records to the patients. However one or two mistakes by the doctor should not define the doctor's ability. It is also possible that the patient had no chance of survival. So along with giving the records, it should also give the statistics how much survival chance did the patient have.

When a person is ill, he wants to go to the best doctor he can so that he can get the best treatment and get better soon. Some illness are such that a person's life is in danger. In such cases, the patient desperately tries to get the best doctor available. If the records are available to the patient, the patient can judge the doctor from it. Also if the records are given to the patient, the patient would be more comfortable with the doctor and would not have a doubt in his mind. For example if a person has cancer his life depends on the doctor entirely. So he should have the right to the records of his doctor.

In some countries malpractices are going on and some people get a doctor's degree without passing the examinations by giving money. In such cases the people's lives is in danger. If the doctor's records are readily available for the patient, he would get to know that the doctor is not competent to treat him or her. Nobody would go to such doctors and this malpractice would eventually stop. One disadvantage of giving the doctor's records to the patients would be that new doctors would have a tough time to get established even if they were very good doctor as they would not have records.

An ailing patient should have access to his doctor's records of treating similarly afflicted patients so that the patient can determine if he would be comfortable with the doctor treating him or not.