The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books, that by opening a café within the bookstore, more customers would be attracted to it and would be able to compete with Regal Books who have opened a café in their bookstore seems convincing at first however there are many questions that need to be answered to have the predicted result.

Monarch Books have been in business at the same location for twenty years and are known for their wide selection of books. In the argument it states that the children’s book section would be discontinued and that space would be used for the café but it is possible that even though that national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of population under ten, the children under in that region may not have decreased. Monarch Books need to find out if the percentage of children in that city has decreased or not. Many customers may be coming to the book store for their children and if they discontinue the children’s section, it is possible that those customers may stop coming. Before they can decide to discontinue the children’s book section they need to know how many children visit the book store and how many children’s books are sold.

The argument states that by opening a café inside the bookstore that Monarch books want to attract more customers however it may be that people are not interested in the café and come there only for the books. The store has been in business for twenty years so many of the customers may be regular customers and would not like that change in the book store as they have been coming to the store for years. There may be a good café nearby so people may not want to try the new café at the book store. So by adding the café they might not increase their sales and might earn less profit.

Argument states that Regal Books opened a café but it does not say how much Regal Books’ profit increased after opening the café. Even if the Regal Books increased their profit, Regal Books may be in a different locality where there is not a good café which would be why people would be more attracted to the café. Also they need to see if the sales of Regal Books increased after opening the café before deciding to open a café. Also a question that needs to be answered is whether Regal Books has a children’s book section or not. If Regal Books does have a children’s book section, it may be possible that Monarch Books might lose customers to Regal Books.

The author's argument that by opening a cafe within bookstore, more customers will be attracted and Monarch Books can better compete with Regal Books who have opened a cafe recently, may be correct. However, in making his recommendation the author has made many assumptions. In the absence of any supporting evidences to the assumptions pointed out, the recommendation is not likely to have the predicted results.