Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Technology is changing the world today. Every person is tech savy and addicted to smart phones and most of us cannot live without them. I think that parents should forbid young children from owning smart phones. I believe this for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, children would get addicted to the smart phone and playing games on phone would replace other activities like playing outside with friends or coloring. When I was young, I used to love playing outside all day. If children get addicted to smart phones, children will not get physical exercise which is needed at the young age. For example, I know a friend whose daughter is 6 years old and she will not eat her food unless she is allowed to play games on her phone while her nanny feeds her. Her parents are at work all day and her nanny cannot get her to eat without a smart phone. In this way, kids are getting spoilt.

The second reason is that if the child knows how to use the internet, he may use it for completing her homework as well. So, the child would not use his brain and his mind would not get developed. When I was young and I had doubt about my homework, I would go to my mother or go through books to get the answer and in the process I would learn more. But today's generation wants the answer in minutes and have no patience. Also, children love watching television which is fine if they watch one or two shows per day. However, if they know how to use the internet on smart phone, they can watch shows on it alll day long. For example, I remember when my cousin was going to come over at my place and I was excited that I would get to play with my cousin. However, when she did come she was not interested in playing with me at all. She watched television shows on her smart phone all day and did not like the idea of playing outside.

In conclusion, parents should not allow children to own smart phones. This is because children get addicted to smart phones and do not play outside which is a necessity for physical exercise and they would use internet for wrong things as well.