In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Mason city government has created some assumptions about the Mason river and why it is rarely used for water sports. The city should examine the assumptions to ensure that no other explanations are there why the Mason river is not used much for water sports.

There was a survey which said that Mason city residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activity. The survey does not tell how many people were involved in the survey. Which company hosted the survey? These questions are not specified in the argument so we cannot trust the survey. The city government assumes that the survey is correct without knowing these details. Even if the survey is true and Mason city residents enjoy water sports, it doesn’t mean that they have the time to go for these activities. The argument says that the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational activities. It could be that the river is not used much for water sports which is why the city park department was not allocating much of its budget for water sports.

The argument states that there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. This complaint may have come from the people who live nearby. The smell of the water may not bother the people who occasionally come for water sport activities as they come only for some time. The smell of water may be bothering the people who live near the water because they smell it every day. The plan to clean the river is surely good for the city and its residents as they would get a better environment but it does not necessarily mean that the water sports activities would increase in Mason river.

The argument says that the reason why people of Mason city do not use the river for water sports is because of the smell of the river and quality of the river’s water. But it is possible there may be other reasons why the people may not be using the river for recreation. It could be possible that the river is rocky and so water sports may be dangerous there. The river may not be very appropriate for swimming, boating or fishing. It is also possible that the river has strong currents. There may have been deaths because of it and so people don’t go to the Mason river for water sports even if they enjoy water sports.

There are a lot of assumptions taken here by the city government. So the government should clear up these questions before allocating more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational activities.