In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asseverates that the by cleaning up the river, residents will be able to enjoy their favorite activities which is water sports, and thus should increase the budget allocated to the recreational facilities. However, the argument is not sound and should provide more evidence such as the credibility of the survey, relationship between the clean water and people's willingness to participate in the activity, and finally the reason why the government should allocate more budget into this field.

First of all, the survey result should be more specific to be further coherent. There is a possibility that although the Mason city dwellers generally like football, the survey was conducted among teenagers who prefer water sports instead. Thus, the survey may not be representing the whole group, which would result in a subtle change in recreational facility utilization rates regardless of the budget put into these amenities. If we are gauranteed that this survey truly represents the district's predilection for activities, it would be logical than it is.

Next, water quality and facility usage does not seem correlated in the passage. Even though people's willingness to go into the water might be elevated, it does not necessarily mean that they will participate in the activities. Residents could be pursuing their hobbies in a nearby river that is both clean and cheap compared to the city and will not use the city river regardless of the government's effort to clean it. Nonetheless, if the residents were not using the river for recreation due to water quality, a endeavor to ameliorate the river health might help increase the visitors.

Finally, increased funding could not result in increased visitors. Even if the government provides equipment required for the sports by their enhanced budget, the citizens of this city could be participating in water sports in a weakly basis that most of them are already equipped for their sports. Consequently, the change in facility usage will not change. The author therefore, should elaborate more on the reason that increased budget will lead to the public's interest in the amenities.

In conclusion, the passage fails to corroborate the results of the survey, interrelation between clean water and river usage for sports, the reason why they should mete more money into these facilities.