In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage asserts that Mason city citizens prefer water sport, and by cleaning up the water quality people will utilize the river for their activities. Hence, after cleaning the water they should allot more budget on these recreational facilities. However, this assertion does not seem sound because is overlooks some quarries that should be answered to make it coherent.

First of all, the survey that the passage is refering to could not be representing the entire preferations of the community. For instance, the survey could have been conducted in schools, therefore only accounting for teenagers. In this case, only a part of the representation is generalied. The elder residents in the city could prefer indoor activities such as bolling or yoga over aquatic ones, or they could be interested in football or basketball instead. Although there is also the possibility that this survey has successfully represented the overall opinion of the district, there is also the problem that residents are not actually willing to participate in these sports. Hence, to be further persuasive, the passage should elaborate more on the survey: whether it is crebible, and did the public responded truly.

Next, concluding that a clean water will lead to increased utilization seems hasty. There could be other reasons why the river is not used for recreation rather than the dubious quality of water. The residents might prefer visiting a river in nearby Maple city which provides more facilities that are suitable for recreation, or has a broader river flow so it is not crowded. In addition, even though the water is cleaned up, people may not want to participate water sports in the middle of the city because they feel that they are watched by other residents which make them uncomfortable. Even though a clean water is one factor that makes a river suitable for water sports, it is not the only influence and other conditions should be informed by the passage to be cogent.

Finally, more budget mete on the recreational facilities could not lead to a increase in people's usage of the river. More budget means more money, and the government could be wanting to gain additional profit by these amenities. In this case, ticket prices to enter these regions within the river might increase, leading residents to shun away from the amenities. Furthermore, people could remain suspicious about the river because of the prolonged pollution it suffered and will not enter the water even if the facilities are ameliorated.

In conclusion, the passage should provide the credence of the survey, correlation between water quality and alacrity for recreation, and finally a patent reason why the government should invest more on these sports facilities.