In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The above argument concludes that the city government should devote more money in their budget to riverside recreational facilities as water sports activities are sure to increase. This conclusion is based upon the premises that Mason city residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities and the state's has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. However, the argument's conclusion is not persuasive as the author takes number of assumptions that he fails to specify or/and properly justify.

Firstly, the author assumes that the surveys conducted are representative of the whole population of the city and are carried out by reliable sources. It assumes that if recreational activities are started, people in large number would turn out for participating. While this might be a possibilty, there is no assurance provided for it.

Secondly, the author fails to consider the possibility that the announced plan to clean up the river by the state might actually take time to be executed. In such a scenario it would not make any sense to devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

In addition to the above assumptions, the author incorrectly assumes that the only hinderance to the recreational activities in the Mason river are quality of river's water and river's smell. It might turn out that the flow of the river is either too slow for some of these activities or too high so as to pose as a danger to the participants.

Finally, the author does not give specific evidence to relate why the increase in recreational activities would be a positive thing for the city. In case if it attracts a good number of residents and foreign tourists, the revenue generated might be benificient for the city's development and local economy. Nonetheless, there would be many projects under consideration that the city government might undertake for this particular year.

In conclusion, the argument that city government should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities from this year's budget is rather weak. If the author demonstrated that cleaning of the river would actually lead to increase in recreational activities, the cleaning process would be completed soon and the city's council consider the budget increase as a good strategy for the development. However, in the current form the readers should be wary to accept the conclusion.