All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

A developing business always has the goal of expansion. To expand however, requires expertise as well as critical understanding of the operations of a business. Consultants are often approached in order to analyze the running of the company, usually for financial as well as structural matters. The development of a business can also be improved by involving subordinates in the decision-making process by asking for their feedback that could help propel the business further. However, in terms of impact, outside forces certainly will provide an unbiased and clear goal of just improving the business as a whole and not internal relations. As such, in a realistic sense, I disagree with the stance that consulting workers instead of external consultants is a better choice.

Productive workers are persistent and will work arduously to meet their objectives which in turn helps the business. But each worker is an individual body and not uniform system. Every individual is different and each person may have different targets. By prioritising workers for consultancy, the business may become more divergent and uncertain due to a flood of varying opinions. These opionions may also be biased in some way. One particular worker in XYZ company may look for personal benefits when asked for a view on how to increase expansion. The worker could conclude that by giving workers higher wages and promotions, it would lead to better productivity which may in turn lead to more company revenue. However, the worker's self-centered reasoning would not apply to improving the business condition, as the costs in terms of wage increases may not support the improved revenue at all. As such, the worker's point would be disregarded and all the time invested in the "worker-oriented consultancy" would be for nothing.

External consultants, although expensive, certainly offer an interesting, well-crafted reasoning to support their assertation. They earn a living for "thinking outside the box" and their opinions are thoroughly researched before presentation. Certainly, some consultants may be greedier than others but they all have the purpose of doing their job: help the company grow. Imagine if there was no Accenture or J.P. Morgan? Companies like these, survive because of their consultancy and their input to major firms like Microsoft and Boeing. It would be debasing to external consultants if their jobs were replaced by internal workers that probably did not have the experience and skills needed for consultancy to work.Still, the opinions of workers must be highly regarded especially their feedback regarding any new business initiative.

Morale is critical for a healthy business. It could, as a result, be argued that workers consultancy would increase their morale and boost both growth as well as the required database of ideas. However, the argument could not take-off well if we consider how long is the productivity or morale going to last? The choices of people are ever-changing and so will the morale of workers regardless of their importance to the consulting the business.

In conclusion, from the realistic point of view and not an idealistic view, it is clear that external consultants earn their bread and butter by giving advice on improving the business and that they will provide a cogent analysis of business operations. Workers are to be valued, but involving them in consultancy would both waste time as well as resources, since training will have to be induced. As such, external consultants are still the best people to go to for consistent business advice.