All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All corporate organization have one intrinsic goal in their progress trackers, that is to streamline their processes to operate with utmost efficiency. Many a times, to get an external point of view, company's hire consultants to help with this endaevour. The prompt suggests that such consulting help is a mere luxury and is not required if the organization itseff would invest more time in considering the voice and suggestions of its own workforce. But I disagree with this idea and bolster the concept of having a consultant for improving process efficacy due to the following reasons.

Firstly, a consultant can give a fresh perspective to the problem at hand. He or she may be able to see something that the internal employees or even the higher management of the company are missing. For example, consider a company X that is doing really well in sales and is financially accumulating record profits. But even after a good reputation on the street, many freshly graduated students do not consider it as a viable option to start their careers. This predicament can be really puzzling to analyze just by looking at balance sheets and sales figures. An outside view is paramount is such cases. A consultant may run a neutral poll among candidates of this younger age group and the results from this survey will help in understanding what the problem really is. Maybe its beacuse of the higher average age of employees in the company which gives a perception that it is not fresher friendly, or it may just be that the culture of the organization is not conducive to attract a younger crowd. Such analysis can also be done for the various facets of the diversity spectrum to yield interesting but important results. Hence, getting a fresh perspective is really pivotal to run a successful business and this is what a consultant can provide.

Secondly, the employees of a company are hired to perform a particular role, and naturally the observations and suggestions that they would provide could be focused on only their job. For example, an engineer might complain about the older version of software he or she is using. A working parent might complain about the work-life balance of the company. Every employee would have his or her own issues and recommendations to alleviate the same. But such disjoint data is difficult to analyze and comprehend. But on the contrary, a consultant doesn't report to a particualr business vertical. He or she first understands holistically the entire business, its major parts and verticals, only then after deep study and impact analysis gives his or her solution to any problem. Hence, having a consultant helps in assimilating data points on an organiational level and make decisions which affect the bigger topics in the progress of the organization.

Lastly, there is another perspective to look at consulting. The view of the employees and those of a consultant don't always have to be disjoint. Actually it is a common practice that major consulting firms like McKinsey or Bain, first run employee surveys or polls to get an idea of the sentiment of the organization's own employees. Using this vital information which portrays the topics that affect the workforce the most, a people centric solution is suggested to the management and then ultimately implemented. Furthermore, having a neutral, dispassionate opinion from a consultant also helps in erradicating the problem of bias which is evident in modern day organizational decisions.

Therefore, in conclusion I would like to recapitulate that even though the employees of a company can provide valid and vital inputs in increasing its efficiency, due to the reasons stated above, a fresh and neutral point of view is as important to drive the business and a consultant is the best person to do so.