All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

With more and more sectors becoming organised, both the number and scale of companies has been skyrocketing. As companies grow in size, laying out a detailed plan of operation for these companies becomes a necessary task. The author suggests that paying heed to the suggestions of employees within the company is a much better approach to lay out such plans than relying on outside consultants. I partially agree with the

author's suggestion. A combination of both employees' suggestions and insights from consultants could prove to be the best way to plan a company's operations.

Nobody understands a company's working and the existing issues with it's operational model better than it's employees. Since they are at the receiving end of the existing flaws in it's operation, they are the best candidates to pinpoint areas of improvement and to suggest new practices that could improve the company's overall productivity and efficiency. For example, a software developer who has spent a considerable amount of time in a company can provide valuable insights into where there is a bottleneck in the development and release process for a feature. Such insights can be helpful in pin-pointing the problem and thinking of possible solutions for it. A company can rely on such feedbacks and suggestions from it's employees to determine what needs to be done.

While employees are best suited for identifying what needs to be done, they have little knowledge about how a particular problem can be fixed or a new company wide practice can be implemented. Since consultants are trained specialists in this arena, they are well suited for designing solutions to the problems identified by the employees. Let's say if a software companies' feature releases are being delayed due to the testing process taking too long to complete, consultants can have a closer look at the current testing team's functioning and come up with ways of clearing this bottleneck. Consultants, due to their formal education and training in the operations of a company, have better idea on how to approach a particular problem and figure out a solution for it.

Employees' inputs can also be taken once a solution or plan of action is put forth by the consultants. Knowing the company in-and-out, employees can determine the feasibility of the proposed solution and can add their own inputs improvising the solution or approach.

The additional cost of hiring a consultant is certainly worth the expertise that they bring to the table. Employees in a company and hired consultants have different set of skills and can contribute to the company's operation policy in different ways. A combination of these complementary skillsets, if used efficiently, can work wonders in the smooth operation of a company.