The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The world undoubtedly needs good leaders for its progress and prosperity. To shape a good leader, the author suggests that the focus be on instilling a sense of cooperation among young people, instead of competition. I partially agree with the author's claim for the below reasons.

Leadership is more about being the glue that holds the team together than about giving commands and orders. A good leader ensures the smooth operation of its team, makes sure any personal or non-personal conflicts among team members are averted as much as possible and in cases where such conflicts are inevitable, ensures that they have the minimal effect on the operations of the team. Such traits are hard to be expected from a person who is not accustomed to the values of cooperation. Leaders should exemplify the behaviour they expect from their team. A cooperative leader motivates the team to be cooperative.

One of the most challenging responsibilities of being a leader is to maintain a good cordial relationship with the team. Leaders are often looked at as outsiders by the team. Cooperative skills can serve very well in lessening this divide and opens the door for the leader to connect with his or her team members on a personal level. It also helps inculcate a sense of ownership among team members where each one feels like they are collectively working on achieving something rather than working for their leader.

While there is no doubt that cooperation is a useful skill to have for a leader, one cannot overlook the importance of a healthy competitive spirit. Leadership also includes taking the team forward, ensuring that the team's potential is put to its best use. Without competitiveness, the team risks being self complacent and lacking in its performance and output. A certain team might have a great degree of harmony and cooperation, but it wouldn't sustain for long without delivering the promised output and meeting its goals. Frequent failures, setbacks or subpar performances as compared to their competitors poses a risk of bringing down the morale and enthusiasm of the team. One might easily lose sight of their purpose and place in such cases. Therefore, a leader also needs to ensure that the team is meeting their goals and performing well which would be a great push for them to work better - which is possible only by a competitive spirited leader.

One also needs to understand that it is the unhealthy competitiveness that might harm the team and not competitiveness in itself. It takes a plethora of skills to lead a group of people. Being a leader is no easy task and to form the leaders for tomorrow is even more difficult. However, with early efforts to inculcate the right skills in young people, one can ensure that the society flourishes with good leaders in the future.