"Allowing our children to spend hours a day IM’ing and employing social media is bound

to impede their social skills as they enter adulthood and the workforce."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim made above. Use

relevant reasons and examples to support your point of view

The twenty-first century has been an era of revolution driven by technological advancement mainly in the digital part of the technology, one of the byproduct of this revolution is social media which has changed the way humans communicate. Though the claims have been social media has brought us closer then ever but all of this is not entirely true, in some cases it has brought us closer to people who are physically distant on the expense of neglecting people who are closer to us. This effects are clearly reflected not only in personal life but has also started penetrating the work life of an individual which has changed the way offices work and interact.

Gone are the golden days when one entered the office and was greeted by office mates on their way to office cabin, when one used to talk discuss about what in packed in tiffin for lunch and when one used to crack jokes in office and the laughter echoed across the floor, rather now people are disctracted in their mobile scrolling social media and sharing memes to their distinct friend and laughing by themselves. This has fostered a culture of individualism rather than collectivism which can have adverse effect in the office space. Offices are formed by teams where interaction in prevalent, ideas are exchanged this increases the social interaction not in a team but rather across teams. Increased social interaction will lead not only to faster problem solving but also increase lead to innovative ideas and solution as all the departments share the knowledge with an increased engagement of social media in office people will be secluded within the same team, this will limit the problem solving skills and also limit the innovation in a company.

The rise of social media has adverse effect on who people perceive their fellow work mates. During the twenty-first century a school child is being rewarded by their social circle in class on one is on social media. As the kid grows up the same culture is carried forward and gets inculcated in office culture where a fellow worker are judged by their social media account.

Thus an social media is threat in office spaces.