Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, because of the world development, the Internet, computers and videos are the common sources of knowledge for students. Since everyone is using it all day long, some might think that there must be a negative effect of that. The prompt suggests, that these technologies too often distract from real learning. However, I mostly disagree with the claim, as the help, which is offered by these sources is bigger, than the possible distraction, and there are two significant reasons that support it.

To begin, technology is very helpful as a source of knowledge. Moreover, the way the knowledge is presented on the Internet is more suitable for the students, therefore, gaining new information is easier for them. For instance, the commonly used website – Quizlet, is what students need nowadays, as it offers a very useful tool for vocabulary learning. Further, by using Quizlet, students save a lot of time as creating flashcards on the website is commonly known by students to be more than two times more efficient. It is because there is no need to cut a paper, write down everything and additionally risk the potential loss of some flashcards. Therefore, technology is very useful when it comes to learning and helps students to achieve the same knowledge and be more effective in time.

Further, not only the Internet is a useful tool for students, new technological innovations are also very helpful when it comes to studying. For example, interactive boards in modern schools make conducting lessons easier for teachers and more interesting for students. This tool helps especially math professors to save time by copying the task subject, despite writing it down on the borad, and go directly to solving the example. Therefore, new technologies help students to get the classes which are conducted in higher quality and focused on solving the problem, not writing down the example task.

On the other hand, the computers might be a distraction for many students, especially during the pandemic time, when the education is provided from home. In fact, it is more difficult for students to focus on the lecture, as other things on the computer might seem tempting. However, without the computers, whole home based learning would be impossible, and students during the pandemic would have to risk or do not have an education at all. Therefore, the new technology might be distraction, but the usefulness of it and the help it provides is more important.

In conclusion, the issue is very difficult as the new technology for some parents might seem a distraction, when their children spend whole days playing video games. However, it is used mainly to help students to gain the knowledge in easier and more efficient way. Therefore, despite some distraction that it can provide, schools should implement new technologies in a students life further.