Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Moral judgement is one of the most important charecteristics for any person out there, not only a leader. Of course, being a sound and effective leader seems to go hand in hand with a good moral judgement, but in reality, it rarely comes into use as much as one is led to believe.

A good leader is supposed to do what is good for the team and not what is morally correct according to his/her judgement. Their peers are gonna judge or respect them according to their leadership, the teams performance and productivity. A peer seldom cares what moral choice you make, only wether it has a good or bad effect for the team or company. For example :- A product designer might copy and reskin a design/feature that is market proven and increases the user by expercience, and this sure is going to make the product more successfull. If the leader chooses to reprimand the designer and delete that feature, then the product isnt gonna perform as well as its rival and the leader would be looked down upon.

This doesnt mean that one should make a leadership judgement without any morality as this is way worse and could lead to more severe effects. Taking the same example, if the designer outright steals intellectual property then the leader shouldnt accept that design.

Hence, even though moral judgement is an important charecteristic that any leader should posses, they also need a lot more set of skills to handle their responsibilities well and earn the respect of their peers by doing so.