Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The best leader is the one who has to lead the group as well as well understood their peers. The role of a leader is very crucial and important in any organization. The statement recommends that a leader should maintain the respect of each of his or her colleagues is more important than sound judgment. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement because of the following reasons.

To begin with, the leader in the role model of any organization, and people of that organization follow their leader's behavior. For instance, A leader of a political group who always follows anti-corruption and guides their follower to do the same. Suppose one of the members of their organization to do the corruption and everyone in that organization get to know about the corrupt member. Consequently, if the leader doesn't do the sound judgment, just to maintain the relationship with the corrupt member it will not only leave a bad impression on the other members but also crate a counterproductive environment within the organization. Also, other people of the organization started doing corruption if the leader doesn't take the corresponding action. Thus, it's the leader whom people follows and it's the leader's responsibility to maintain the ethics and principal of the organization. The above example illustrates that a leader should always follow the ethics and principles of the organization rather than maintaining a relationship with their peers.

Furthermore, any organization runs solely on its leader quality. The environment of the organization depends solely on the behavior and ethics of their leader. So, it's a leader's responsibility that every one of his organizations should be treated equally, otherwise it will create conflict between the people of the organization. For example, the first manager of the software development company finds the mistake of their peers while working on a very important project. However, the first manager doesn't take necessary action to prevent this such mistake in the future to maintain the relationship with their peers. While the second manager never ignores the mistake from their peers and always correct them to avoid such a mistake in the future. Consequently, it will create a conflict between the two individual groups, and most of the workers prefer to work with the first manager and avoid the second manager. of course this type of action will hinder the growth of an organization or company. The above example demonstrates that the leader should always focus on correcting the mistake of their peers for the growth of their organization and maintain the sound environments within the organization.

All things considering, we can say that for the better development of the organization and maintain the ethics and standard of the organization leader should always try to correct their peers rather than maintaining a good relationship with their peers.