Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader who is well respected amongst his peers is a motivated and happy person thus proving very effective in motivating his subordinates/peers as well. But, if garnering respect comes at the cost of him having to choose between being moral or not, the person is better off being morally sound.

A leader who is not morally sound is inefficient in his task as a leader and this fact will always fill them with guilt. People will look down upon them. A leader's ego is most satisfied when he garners respect from his/her peers, but if it were to be compared to the moral judgement of a person, moral judgement according to me always comes out on top.

When a leader is morally sound, he exudes a positive vibe that is infectious to his/her followers, thus creating a culture of morality amongst his followers in their judgements.

Another compelling argument to support my position would be that when a morally sound person make important decisons he considers the interests of all the stakeholders without being selfish or biased. This, in turn promotes a culture where no one's interests is negelected.

A decision taken with a moral outlook, might even do as to harm a leader's standing amongst his peers, when they see him neglecting a popular decision in favor of a decision which is morally sound.At this point, the individuals approach should be towards being moral rather than impressing his peers.

But if we consider the other side of the argument, a leader who garners less respect from his peers,is mostly unhappy, there is lack of motivation in his/her worklife thus impacting the overall well being of the person and his family, hence being immoral to himself and his family.

But, all facts considered a person is better off being occasionally unhappy from loosing respect amongst his peers because he took an unpopular decision, rather than go for a popular decision which is morally wrong.