Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree that respect for a leader's peers is more important than sound moral judgment. There can be times when a leader has to comprise on making his colleagues happy and make critical decisions that lead to better meant for not only his peers but also the members who look up to him. One such example can be a movie called Freedom writers which was based on true events. Where a white woman goes to teach in a school of blacks, Jews, and other underprivileged children. The other teachers only fulfilled what was required by the school's board but the teacher went above and beyond to help the students with not only their education but also with their personal endeavors to some extent. She fought her colleagues, other staff members, the school board, and the ethics community. The conclusion of her constant struggles was that she was able to call the women who helped Anne Frank rescue the German Soldiers to the school and there she gave a speech to the kids and motivated them to speak their reality and never diminish their light. As a result, every student's story was published as a compilation of the book called "The Freedom Writers". So, I strongly believe that sound moral judgment is the most necessary characteristic of an effective leader.