Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The argument that the leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers is more important than them having a sound moral judgement is one that can spark many discussions. However, the two aspects of the issue aren't as disparate as they seem. While it is important for a leader to be able to command respect from people around, it is inherently related to their ability to make decisions that warrant this respect.

Often, a leader is an influential force to a large number of people. Consequently, their actions play an important role in shaping the experiences of their peers. Moreover, leaders have a moral responsibility to make ethical, yet efficient decisions when faced with dilemmas. Leaders have a potential to change the world for the better, and to do so, they would require the ability to throughly analyse and choose the best option available to them.

That being said, this sound moral judgement also inevitably earns the respect of the leader's peers. To illustrate with an example, people may be more wary of a newly elected minister and his claims, until he implements something to benefit his people's welfare, proving to the masses that he is deserving of the post. Following that, these people are more likely to vote for him in the next round of elections. With this respect, leaders can make various decisions while being backed up by his peers.

However, respect is not always a good thing. In a few cases, it may be induced forcefully due to fear, or some other reason. For instance, the leader might be one with no sound decision-making capabilites, but still maintains the respect of his or her peers. For a more elaborate example, take the Nazi leader, Hitler; He was the most respected amongst others in the party, but in terms of ethical views, he was largely incapable of making good decisions. His actions were also detrimental to many, causing widespread alarm and concern. Furthermore, on a global scale, he was widely unpopular for his treatment of people from certain races and his support group was limited to his peers.

To conclude, this multi-faceted statement cannot exactly be qualified with an extremely biased view on either side due to the interdependencies between a leader's good judgement and their ability to maintain the respect of those around them. However, just being respected, under the wrong circumstances, where the leader is someone simply unable to make good decisions, is not an ideal one. In these cases, I believe having the cleverness to make a conclusive resolution holds more weight.