In any field – business, politics, education, government – those in power should be required to step down after five years. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The duration of time that a nation gives an official to stay in the position of power depends on multiple criteria. As the statement claims a five-year period is considered to be a sufficient deadline in any field such as business, politics, education, and government. It is evident that new managers in every field will bring up new ideas and solutions, however getting adopted to a position and learning about its weaknesses to be improved takes time. Therefore, I partially agree with the statement and I believe that the duration should be adjusted according to the requirements of the field.

First and foremost, the main reason of changing old managers with new ones lies behind the fact that new employees are more motivated to prove themselves which lead to working relentlessly. People who are entrusted in power can implement their new ideas derived from evaluation of the recent manager. One can analyze weaknesses and mistakes of the businessman, politician, instructor or official during five years and evolve the system by new solutions after being assigned to the position. Additionally, universities normally present fresh experts in various fields each four years to the society. People who have recently graduated from the university are passionate and vigorous to apply whatever they have learned about new technologies and methodologies to the society.

Following that, needs of society changes during five years and new officials who have lived among people are more familiar with those newly raised requirements. For example, wrong decisions of a politician may ruin the life of young generation who are in the age of twenty to twenty-five for five years. This type of mistake is uncompromising since the time is past and unfavorable economic situations caused by wrong decisions of a politician had side effects on the future life of numerous people. furthermore, the soaring rate of changes in this competitive world do not let us to waste time on wrong paths. If a businessman is guiding a profligate business, he should quickly be replaced by a wise and prudent businessman who can prevent the huge loss of the company.

On the contrary, some other fields such as education require long periods of time to reveal the true abilities of its experts. It is evident that the majority of researchers choose a specific research interest and follow that to the rest of their life since being expert in scientific fields requires great amount of efforts and studying on the subject. A person who is doing research as an associate professor in a university has allocated more than ten years of research to that specific field of area to achieve that position. The more the person acquires experience the more sophisticated he becomes in that field. Therefore, changing people in education after five years does not seem to be reasonable decision.

To summarize, assigning people in the position of power should be controlled and appropriate deadlines are needed. Depending on the field that they are working on, this deadline should be adjusted. Spending longer periods may result in profit in some cases and loss in some others. Therefore, the features of the field ought to be evaluated meticulously.