In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Over the decades, humans have made a remarkable progress in their life.human achievements have been quite audacious.they have made impossible tjings possible.the writer states that in any fiels it is impossible to make a significant contributionwitjout being first influenced by acheivements within tha field.to some extent the idea stated by author is appropriate.

Firstly,in any field there is always a first time for any discovery.for example it was NASA who first landed a spacecraft on moon.this achievement was truly one of its kind.there were no past achievements in this field.So here this example contradicts the authors claim.While this example also proved to be a great motivation for all the individuals in the field .they believed that they can too do it.So here the authors claim is accepted

Secondly,past achievements also help in the moral boost of a individual. they take inspiration and futherdo more advances in the field.Since there are some achievements made in that field ,making advaces in the field seems possible.

As a summary, the humanity has shown that is capable to change "impossible" parts of the life to "possible" facets while there is no previous experience about it; on the other hand, he/she could utilize previous experience to progress some field of study.