In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In asserting that without past achievements within a field, it is impossible to make a significant contribution in the field, the author of the argument failed to acknowledge other diverse issues – fields of endeavor that have been untouched by the humankind – besides fields that include some past achievements that could influence the individual or individuals in the certain field. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement to the extent that past achievements can help as a motive to drive the individual to success, but it is not necessarily impossible to have a breakthrough without them. In other cases, as will be elucidated in the points below it will not be so.

Firstly, it is acceptable as a fact that past achievements in any field can work as incentives for the future generations. Take for example the ideology of the majority of people before the 1960s, regarding being able to complete a one-kilometer run in less than one minute. Unless for the pioneer runner who broke the record of 1 kilometer and ran less than one minute, the people of nowadays would have still believed that it is implausible to complete such a task. After that event, more than two thousand people were able to complete the run in less than one minute, including high school students. As a result, it can be seen that the ideology has changed. Just like the old saying “If someone could do it before, you can do it too”. Not only does the past achievements help individuals to find a motivation for their ride, but also aid them as a guide.

However, with these examples, it could be argued that for a major contribution, in any field, past achievements is mandatory. But when viewed holistically it is not so. Simply put, without any prior success in a certain field, the job of the individual to gain profound success is hard, but not out of reach. Take for instance Thomas Edison, the first scientist who invented the light bulb. Not being able to rely on prior achievements to build his incentives, Edison had to rely on his strong self-belief for finding a suitable compound that can be used as the string. To elaborate on, one can do whatever he/she wants just by believing in oneself. The more a humankind fails, the more he is determined to try more for success. In addition, it is only our cupidity that drives, nothing else.

All in all, contrary to the claim above, one can have a significant contribution in a field whether there have been past achievements or not. Past achievements can help an individual as incentives, but without them, one is still able to have a major breakthrough only by the power of his/her will.