In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While the true motivation to invest our time, concentrate in any work, understand its characteristics and then make significant contributions comes from past achievements and applications of the work in any field, it may also helpful to work raw and unexplored fields. For example, the emergence of new era in scientific research often takes place as scientists start exploring new fields. To exemplify, fields like Machine learning and Artificial intelligence are like aliens to researchers probably before a century and currently these fields are being researched and developed by scientists all over the globe. Without emergence of such fields handling big data and making it available to people throughout the globe might be impossible. The products of the big, giant companies like Google, Microsoft, Apple are based on techniques of these fields. In any field, there is no past achievement before the first achievement and first achievement definitely need significant contribution, so the emergence of many new fields like mentioned above says that it is not impossible to contribute significantly in the fields which have no past achievements.

Firstly, the aim if any research like scientific research is to find new techniques for the development of human race. In most of the scientific researches there are no past successes for the application of new techniques, even though the perseverance, patience, constant hard work scientists make new inventions. Like in the field of chemical engineering, there is recent successful production of Bio-diesel from plant and animal wastes. The production of these fuels from renewable sources like plant and animal wastes is important currently because we are running out of fossil fuels. Despite the fact that it takes long time for the invention of such new fuels, researches tried and are successful at the least at lab scale. Many petroleum companies in like BPCL, HPCL employ the successful techniques at big, commercial scale but, they also encourage their researches to find out these alternate fuels for fossil fuels to ensure their company’s longevity. The inventions of new techniques which use other renewable energy sources like solar energy, wind energy, geothermal energy also suggests the amount of contributions made to these fields.

Secondly, despite of saying above, it is human tendency to be inspired by the achievements in the past in any field and these achievements also boosts confidence in them. For example, children of India these days mostly study medical sciences or engineering or civil services because they has been seeing their elders getting success in these fields. They are also encouraged by their parents to pursue their careers in these fields to have a secure job. Only quite a few children tend towards fields like Agricultural sciences, law because they have seen more failures than successes. But, as only specific are fields are pursued and explored, this may make other fields underdeveloped and we may not be able to use, get benefits from these untouched fields. Like India also requires Farmers, Lawyers students should also take contributing in these fields as their career objectives.

To conclude, it is obvious that the fields with successful past achievements are often pursued, but to achieve the goal of enhancing human comforts, proving themselves and in process of broadening their perspective many researchers, scientists tend to make innovations in under developed fields. It is also evident that while pursuing careers in the fields that have past achievements, researchers can apply techniques of these fields in underdeveloped fields. For example application of many modern engineering equipment, tools, pesticides in Framing has been increasing its productivity.