In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

“Experience is the best teacher”. Despite the assertion that it is sometimes possible to make a significant contribution to any field of endeavor without being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field, it is imperative that most of the times significant contributions to a field are impossible without being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field first. I believe that most of the times it is impossible to contribute significantly without being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field but sometimes it is possible to make significant contribution to that field without being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field especially when it is an invention of something completely new or some new line of products.

One of the chief reasons for my fundamental agreement with the author is that a lot of advances are improved versions of past achievements. For instance, the first computer was as huge as a room with vacuum tubes running all over it. But, with advances of technology, having the knowledge of principles on which computer works and its requirements, the first Desktop PCs were made by Apple and IBM individually. The faults in IBM PCs later influenced Michael Dell to create customized PCs. Later with advent of MEMS technology, the CPU chip became smaller and smaller influencing achievements like Laptops, Palmtops, etc. Thus, most of the times, it is impossible to contribute significantly to a field without being influenced by past achievements in that field.

Another reason for my view is that past achievements in a field can also act as important components of a new invention, thus, indirectly influencing the product even though it might not necessarily directly influence the product. For example, even if Tata Nano might have been directly influenced by affordability of automobiles, economics, and road conditions in India, this definitely led them to think about how to accommodate all automobile components in a cheaper price and hence had to improve upon the past automobile technology to accommodate all parts in a small space thus reducing the cost. Even the leap from Charles Babbage computer to the desktop PC was impossible without being influenced by the invention of FETs (Field Effect Transistors) which were used in the electronics of the first desktop PCs. Thus, an influence from past achievements is needed for making a significant contribution to a field.

Some might argue that Benjamin Franklin who invented electricity was purely influenced by nature and there are few more examples of such people. Yet we know that the number of such people is very low compared to the number of people who were influenced by past achievements and also people like Benjamin Franklin didn’t have any relevant past achievements in their field to get influenced from. After weighing both sides, we can conclude that, although sometimes significant contributions are made without being influenced by past achievements in that field, most of the times influence by past achievements is necessary for making a significant contribution to that field.

For all the reasons stated above, I believe that most of the times it is impossible to make a significant contribution to a field without being strongly influenced by its past achievements first.