In any field field of inquiry the beginner is more likely than the expert to make meaningful contributions

“What an elder can see sitting down, a young one cannot see standing up” is a Yoruba proverb that highlights the depth of wisdom that the more advanced have acquired over their many years in a particular field. Their many varied contributions during their time are passed down to the next generation, serving as a base point for the jump forward. The beginner in a particular endeavor or field can bring a whole new way of approaching certain topics, problems or challenges, but that often does not equate to meaningful contribution.

In the year 1905, a young Albert Einstein was an examiner in a patent office when he published four papers on different physics topics which changed the landscape of modern physics. Only 26 years old at the time, he became an instant celebrity among erudite scholars of his time. This might serve as a strong argument for the notion that ‘young blood’ is the most important part of scientific discovery and that the hunger and drive that a beginner has will allow them to reach or even surpass the heights of experts in their field. Although much good can come from a fresh approach at problem solving, one that is not rigid in its methodologies it is still not a strong indicator of prowess in a field. Chemist John Goodenough, an eminent scholar and creator of the modern Lithium-ion battery was ninety-five when he was awarded his Nobel Prize in Physics after decades of outstanding work. An expert in his field and many other, his contributions have shaped modern society in ways that are difficult to assess.

Another point that is important to note is that very few beginners just do not possess the skill required to match the high experts in many fields. Many factors come into place in the determination of the capabilities of any person including race, gender, genetics and mental and physical conditions, and these vary widely across all spheres of life. A great example is the football player. Most players break into the first teams at the ages of 18-20 and exceptional ones even younger, but many do not start to perform well until the ages of 23-25 and the ‘prime’ or peak ability of a footballer is at the ages of 26-29. To take a 29 year old and their depth of knowledge on movement, vision and ability honed after a decade of continuous training and preparation and juxtapose it against the inchoate skills of afresh 19 year old would be a great blunder. The background of the two players can be considered but that will only serve as a footnote, more often than not the results will be the same.

In many workplaces the junior colleague that does well, even exceedingly is not automatically promoted to Vice President of Operations because there is a depth of knowledge still yet to be revealed to them. A tyro can stumble upon a breakthrough through sheer luck, or determination one time, but the steady flow of impactful contributions are made by experts in their field.