A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

As someone who relocated a lot due to parental occupation, I can relate to this topic. The prompt suggests that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college which I strongly agree with for these three reasons. Firstly, upon entering college, every student is expected to have the same level of education because college lecturers do not teach from scratch, instead, they teach new things with the mindset that the students will easily assimilate the topics due to prior knowledge and understanding from courses they learned from high school. If students of different curriculums from various schools all go to the same college, there will be a huge disruption, some students will be at an advantage some will not. Such a situation will make college unnecessarily difficult than it should be because students coming from a different curriculum will be required to go and learn things they were not taught in highschool because of the variation in curriculum which will definetly delay progression in their studies. So variation in curriculum within a nation will strongly affect adaptability of students in college which could lead to other unpredictable situations like students dropping out due to frustration which is detrimental to the society. Secondly, in highschoool not every student is in control of where they live or which school they go to, due to unforeseen circumstances, they may be forced to change schools and when they do, they can not adapt or merge, instead they will be required to start from the beginning which will definitely cost more financially and set their educational progress back. For example if a student is forced to change schools due to financial issues or relocation, the student can try to join into another school but if they have a different curriculum in that school, it will be impossible for the student to cope and adapt, and if the students decides to start from beginning that will take a financial toll on the family even if they can afford it, a cost which can be easily avoided by having a nation to have a common efficient curriculum that covers the necessities. Finally, the change in curriculum will also destroy inter school competitions which has been a big drive for students in schools, It motivates them and makes them work harder. If schools within the same nation did not have a common curriculum such competitons whose revenues have been used as means for scholarships and charity will not exist anymore, because the knowledge of these students can not be compared. Also international bodies that organise exams for admissions into college like WAEC or SAT will spend more because they will have to make curriculum specific tests which would also be difficult to be used to compare students entering into colleges and universities. So basically allowing a variation in curriculum within a nation is definetly not realistic.

In conclusion even if a variation in curriuculum can lead to variety of knowlege within the nation, the cost of damage is not worth it, becuase presently nations already have common curriculums and changing it will affect the educational system drastically, so why bet on something that is not certain when there is already an efficient system in place. So I strongly agree with the prompt, that nations should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.