We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

When humans come together and interact amongst themselves, share ideas, experiences and lessons, the tendency for friction, disagreements and conflict is ever-present; however, that must not be a stumbling block to the fulfilment of shared goals. If I agree completely with every view shared by my circle of friends or colleagues that would be a source of worry for me. It speaks to a lack of diversity in thinking and that is something that must not only be discouraged but abhorred. I disagree strongly with the prompt above and my reasons will be discussed further below.

In the scientific community, surrounding oneself with yes men and those that only reinforce your pre-conceived notions is a recipe for disaster. When no one is there to say no to even the most outlandish experiments or hypothesis, dangerous things can happen. Take for instance the Chinese scientist that in 2018 revealed that he had edited the genes of twins in-vitro to make them taller and more resistant to HIV-AIDS. This brought about worldwide condemnation and outrage, not only because of the nature of the experiments but also the fact that he did not follow peer-review processes and went ahead to publish his unethical work. This is one of the reasons for the peer-review process, which allows different scientists from around the world with opposing views from yours go through and examine your work.

The political landscape is one of the most volatile and polarizing in today’s age of misinformation and groupthink. Many people now do not want to even associate with those who possess different political views or ideals from them, shunning them in family meetings or worse, resorting to violence. This sort of thinking has seeped into the collective mind. How then do we expect the lawmakers that we elect to interact with themselves and create laws and policies that will affect our day-to-day lives? We must encourage a two-way exchange of ideas and information in all spheres of office and lives. The information gleaned might just save the nation or society at large. We must not encourage bubble living that only reinforces our own beliefs, but must step out and venture into the real world with vigor to argue our case but be ready to change our opinions.

The familiar landscape is one that is inherently important to the functioning of our society and more often than not what occurs in our homes spills out into the world at large. Parents must be able to look inwards at what values they possess and what values they aim to instill in their children as they go out into the world. The viewpoints they will have will be different from those of other children and they must be taught how to deal with and make sense of that fact. Whether it be by reaching out for external help or finding a community of parents that they can share tips with and grow together.

The world at large is in need of new processes, ideas and solutions to an ever growing slate of problems. These require a level of cooperation never before witnessed in human history, and we cannot get there by listening to the thoughts of those we only want to here. We must encourage an exchange of contrary and contradictory ideas, learn, understand and pick up what we need to advance our causes or put them to bed once and for all.