In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

If you were to browse through common science textbooks, you would realise why there is some sense to the given statement. All we talk about, celibrate and discuss are the “beginners” of the field - those who made discoveries and contributions in the early years; those who founded the field and laid down the “rules”. Is that to say no one has since made important contributions? Yes, Issac Newton did lay down the 3 laws of motion and almost singlehandedly championed the field of classical physics. But those were merely laws. What of the people who applied them to build inventions? What of George Stephenson who created the steam engine using those laws of physics and thermodynaimcs? Is his contribtion not important? Or what about Albert Einstien and his contributions to quantum physics in which he explored scenarios which Newton’s classical physics would not operate?

To say that these “experts” (who joined the field later) did not make important contributions would be rob them of their hard-work and rob the field of their findings.

That is not to say that the contributions of the “beginners” is not praiseworthy. They were after all “pioneers” and “fathers” of their fields for a reason. Issac Newton prposed the fraemwork of differential calculus - one of the most important tools in enginnerng. Gallileo advanced the field of astronomy in the absence of sophisticated tools and measuring devices. Niels Bohr, arguably one of the greatest physicits who expanded our knowledge and view of the Atom, had very little prior research to work with. These individuals are considered pioneers not because they were “beginners” or “firsts”, but because of the impact of their contributions and the conditions in which they produced their results. Before they could begin, these “beginners” had to invent the field, write the rules, lay down the foundation. They are given so much credit because subsequent research was built on or inspired by their work.

One could make the argument that there was more “unexplored” ground for the beginners. This could be exploited by the “beginners” by arriving at discoveries which were merely “low-hanging-fruits”. And while this might bring fame in some fields, this certainly is not true for science and engineering. For a result to be accepted as a successful contribution, it has to undergo an extensive peer-review process followed by rigourous testing. In that process, if the results are deemed too commonplace or generic or unimpactful, they are dismissd by the scientific community. A finding, regardless of what era or time it belongs too, goes through the same acceptance process, before it can be considered as a contribution. And it’s significance or importance is not govered by the time period, but by it’s impact on the community.

Thus, when we view contributions by this lens (of impact) we start to see that significant contributions ocurr throughout history - they are not just concentrated around the beginners.

In conclusion, It’s unfair to say that the contributions of the “experts” (those who enter the field late) are not as important as the contributions of the “beginners” (those who are associated since it’s inception). This statement is powered more by the awareness of achievements in the field rather than anything else. In most fields, a contribution is considered significant by it’s impact on the field and not by the era it comes from. And because of this logic, there is no reason to dismiss recent contributions as less significant.