Every nation should require students to study at least one foreign language from the elementary school level through university level.

I only agree with the statement partially for the “all or nothing” view that it presents. While there might be many instances where the statement would be feasible and also beneficial, I believe it fails to recognize the realities of impleneting this for every nation. In my opinion, such a ruling should only be limited to countries which can implement this succsesffully, and without financial stress.

There is no denying the benefits of being proficient in a foreign lanaugage. Given the rapid urbanzation and global development that every country is witnessing, cities are becoming more culturally diverse. Companies have teams which inlcude people from all across the world, working together in person or remotely. It thus makes sense to be fluent in a foregin langugae. It will give students an edge over others when they graduate. It will make their transition into foreign countries much smoother. Most importantly, it will prepare them to work in a multi-cultural environment. It will also save them the burden and pressure of learning a new language while working in a new environment.

In fact, when one considers the established job markets in popular fields like Computer Science and Enginnering, America - home to Facebook, Google ,etc comes to mind. For many young graduates in developing countries, this is the dream. Learning a foreign language (like English for non-native speakers) will be immensely helpful. Not only will it put them in a better position to apply for their dream jobs, but it will also help them in standardized English Languae tests (like the GRE, GMAT, TOEFEL, etc) which are accepted globally.

But this is where the statement’s “all or nothing” view starts to break. For a majority of US students who plan to continue working in the United States, is there really a need to learn a foreign language? The same can be said for any student who wishes to continue working in his homeland. Students should not be forced to study an additional langauge with all the existing coursework of school and college.

What’s also problematic is choosing which language to learn and who is to decide this if not the students? Learning an additoinal langaue which is not going to be used later is a waste of time and resources of the students who are paying the school fees.

The statment also fails to consider that sometimes it might not be feasible for a diverse country like India to institute such a ruling for every school. For instance, there might be regional langugaes which need to be promoted and taught in order to preserve their existance. Countries would want to give preference to these langauges over a foregin langauge. There is also an issue of available resources. In developing and impoversished countries, the budget for education is already spread thin across students. It’s impractical to expect such countries to hire trained foreign language experts. To enforce this would only serve as a financial stress over the schools. In fact, schools might have to start compromising on other , more important aspects like infastructure, food, or hiring of other faculty members - just so that they can accomodate this ruling.

In conclusion, while learning the right foreign langugae would be beneficial, instituting such a policy, in a manner in which it actually helps students requires a lot of careful considertions. It is thus best to leave the ruling for the respective countries to decide whether they can effective institute this recommendation.