"In any given field, the leading voices come from people who are motivated not by conviction

but by the desire to present opinions and ideas that differ from those held by the majority."

Leading voices around the globe in multifarious fields have always been talked about by the common people surrounding them. Their perspectives and world views have often been annealed by the criticisms and judgements and also by panegyrics and approbations. In my opinion, what most of us fail to realize that these in most cases, these leading voices are not driven by the urge to expatiate in a way different than the majority but by the littany of their experiences.

Firstly, the luminaries, often the leading voices in their fields have years of experience in the understanding of their craft or subject matter. For example a tennis player like Rafale Nadal who is the owner of a myriad of awards and accolades will have a different view and annotations about the game of tennis than an amateur or some professional with lesser years of action at the court. The views he would have would be based on the years of performance on the court and the various people he has faced as opponents in each game. Our malleable views about certain things are thus shaped by experiences. Nadal would be more conversant than any lesser experienced player about the intricacies of the sport by virtue of his time on the court. Thus, experience plays a great role in shaping these perspectives for these leading voices.

Secondly, the leading voices despise relying on conviction and rather prefer to rely on the reality they have tested for themselves. There are erudite scholars for example Dr. Richard Dawkins who has been the leading voices in the field of evolutionary biology. He contends the theory of evolution against creationism by solely relying on his heuristic approach of reasoning based on the archeological findings of the antideluvian times, whereas creationism has its fundamentals resting on convictions. This goes to prove that relying on conviction is one of the last resort a leading voice might rely on to shape their perspective in a domain or field that they are a champion of.

Lastly, with experience and years of observation comes the aggrandization of critical thinking. Pioneers and Luminaries like Dr. Carl Sagan have always stated the basis of their labile views about astrophysics and astronomy as critical thinking. Critical thinking and reasoning is one of the key features of the leading voices which the ordinary people lack. This makes the speeches and statements made in favour of some views ostentatious to the general public even though they were never meant to in the first place. Critical thinking requires going the extra mile in terms of thinking where the general public don't prefer allocating their time to. This results in the intellectual gap between these leading voices and us.

Though one would say that the leading voices might be moulded by some ulterior motives that are dissembled from the public, it is safe to say that those voices would be ephemeral. Without the profound understanding and the lack of observation and experience those voices will find it importunate to sustain for long. Thus, the above compel me to reason rather than believe, that leading voices are not motivated by conviction or the urge to present different perspectives than the majority.