"In any group effort, universal consensus is preferable to majority rule"

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any group of people, which could be associated to politics, academics or even environmental, there is a lot of controversy and disagreement regarding the best course of action and decision taken into account in order to achieve a certain beneficial outcome. It is practically impossible for everyone within a certain group to agree to the same course of event. Accordingly, majority rule is considered more practical in achieving a certain goal than universal consensus. However, the latter could be more estimable due to the fact that it could achieve a goal without giving rise to potential problems.

First of all, in a perfect world, universal consensus could avoid various problems and issues that could actually be presented when a “majority rule” system is applied. In fact, “majority rule”, due to the fact that not everyone agree on a certain decision, could give rise to conflicts and resentment among the members of the group. Universal consensus could simply be a way for every member within the group to agree to a course of action, therefore, avoiding potential fracas and dissonance.

Second of all, besides its ability to avoid conflict, the application of universal consensus is obtained by taken into consideration the ideas and opinions of every member within the group. Therefore, adopting such system would ensure a more diplomatic status within the group by taking into account everyone’s opinions and potential solutions to a certain problem. In fact, by describing every member’s ideas on a certain topic, they could come to a consensus by providing a so-called “middle solution” that could be favored by everyone within the group.

Finally, unlike majority rule, universal consensus could be a much better way to ensure the adoption of a potentially efficient course of action or decision. In fact, it is possible that even only one member of a group could provide a better way to solving a problem compared to the rest of his peers. Under such circumstances, adopting the majority rule approach, in other terms not taking into account the ideas of at least one member of the group that could even be more logically sound, could make the group engage in a potentially futile and even dangerous course of event. Universal consensus has the power to avoid such mistakes by, as already mentioned previously, considering the ideas, opinions and solutions of every member within the group.

In conclusion, universal consensus can provide three main benefits compared to majority rule, which includes avoiding conflicts, achieving diplomacy and providing the best possible course of actions. Nevertheless, as already discussed in the introductory part, universal consensus is far less realistic than majority rule, for the diverse opinions of group members may pave the path for a lot of contentious debates that would make the universal consensus approach impossible to achieve. Therefore, based on the provided statement, universal consensus is more favorable than majority rule. However, in the real-world, majority rule is mainly applied.