Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

A nation is governed by its rules and regulation, not by the public opinion. These rule and regulations have come into existence through constant refining of norms and age-old traditions. In contemporary world, every nation has its own constitution from which they derive and understand difference between right and wrong. Popular opinion is sometimes ephemeral, formed by recent events; it can be easily twisted and deformed by certain factors in the society for their own good. Oftentimes, changes in archaic rules are opposed by majority and public opinion, but these changes are necessary to bring transformation in antediluvian suppression of minority and underprivileged.

For a nation to proliferate in right direction, a leader should be as such who could take firm and discerning decisions. These decisions should not be influenced by popular opinion but by the governing rules of the society. In India, after its independence, several traditional rules had to be scrapped off for holistic development, freedom and basic rights of every citizen. Being a Hindu dominated nation, it was hard for its leaders to bring change; cases of untouchability, gender discrimination, and concerns about safety and security of minority were ubiquitous. Strong actions were taken in the past, against the popular opinion, which has helped India to remain united amidst so much of difference.

One of the main problems of democracy is influence of majority in policy making. But to keep its integrity and security intact, it is of paramount importance to propose and pass bills which takes everyone in account. In US, there was popular believe that slavery should not be abolished, but Abraham Lincoln without giving up to the whims of general popular belief passed one of the greatest bills in American history.

Similarly, for conservation of wildlife and punishing offenders who are causing harm to environment by encroaching upon forest area, strict rules against the will of popular opinion has to be made. A community or certain individual cannot make it happen, as there is lot of resistance from general mass against such issues. However, the opponents of this contention would argue that if popular opinion is not taken care of then policies will not be beneficial for common mass. In general, policies should be made taking into consideration of general public as a whole including people from different caste, gender, and ethnicity; but these policies should not be influenced by majority.