Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

The statement above asserts that leaders who are malleable to the shifts in popular mind will accomplish little. I strongly agree with such an assertion because fickle shifts in peoples' opinion followed by leaders impede the society toward a good prospect. Nevertheless, to some degree leaders need to show flexibility toward public opinions in order not to become a dictator.

Leaders influence societies by making positive changes. People are reluctant to change, hence at the inception of changes public opinion is not in accordance with the decisions and opinions of great leaders. With the time goes by, like a magnetic pole, strong leaders attract more and more followers. The more followers a leader has, the stronger the leader becomes. Hence, opinion of people is important in order for one to become a leader and accomplish well. All known great leaders, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther king, Abraham Lincoln, and so on were fighting to change the public opinion about human’s inalienable rights. Without the company of popular opinion, they would have not achieved their accomplishments. Therefore, the popular opinion is important to consider and leaders, whose endeavors changed the popular opinion, were not easily influenced by public opinion. Otherwise, in populist approach and those who seek where the popular trend goes to follow, do not have enough consistency to make great contribution. People are not those who lead and there are leaders that should be strong enough to lead public opinions toward better society.

On the other hand, when leaders are totally isolated from influences of shifts in popular opinion can become a dictator. Rather than being reluctant, when popular opinion shifts against their leaders, leaders are prone to accomplish nothing. Last Shah of Iran was a dictator that every movement must have passed from his filter to become legitimate. People began to shift toward their rights _by the changes in the generation and influence of media_ and when they faced disregards from their leader, they made their revolution and ousted Shah. Hence by being isolated from people and disregarding shifts in public opinions and their wants, leaders not only accomplish little, they might be overthrown.

Finally, leaders should strike a balance between concerning shifts in popular opinions and also be consistent about their goals and the horizons for their people. Iranian political authorities depict the country with atomic power. While this horizon was acceptable as it is the right for every nation to have such a power, the policy toward this goal mired Iranian in economic recession. Then, Public opinion shifts against the having atomic power; People were saying that there are other important priorities to concern and such persistence on atomic plan does not worth it. Iranian political authorities show flexibility and concede to popular opinions and suspended the enrichment of uranium. Otherwise, they might have lost their legitimacy because of neglecting popular opinions of suffering people.

In short, regarding the mentioned paragraphs, it is advisable to strike a balance between being consistent toward an aim and also to some degree have flexibility toward popular opinions in order to accomplish well. Neither being easily influence by public opinion would be fruitful nor is it accepted that leaders totally disregard shifts in popular opinion.