The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The best ideas are the ones that solve the persistent problems that people face in everyday life. Starting from everyday transport, cooking, to sleeping in comfort, simple ideas changed the lives of people and made it more sophisticated. The prompt suggests that the best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things and I agree with it. However, there do exist certain revolutionary ideas which were unique and did not stem from avidity in common things, yet, most of the great ideas do come from common problems and I would like to support my stance with the following examples.

In the past decades, there have been many inventions that have made the life of people easier, but there always seems to be some kind of issue persistently and the best ideas are mostly the solutions for such quotidian issues. A common example would be a chair. Chairs were invented centuries ago and were usually used only by the nobility. But years after, their uses found its way into everyday lives and people started using chairs everywhere. And one person was clever enough to notice that, to move these chairs, one has to get up, pick it up and place it in another place. And so that person came up with an idea to fix wheels under the chair to move the chair wherever one goes without even getting up from it. Further, some people developed portable chairs that were capable of being folded into a small object and can be opened wherever required. Such great solutions could have originated only because of the interest of those inventors in commonplace things.

Another example would be a website called trivago which is for booking hotels online. Currently, several websites do this but what makes trivago different is, it compares the prices from all the other websites available and shows the cheapest price to the user. This is not even a creative idea, it's just comparing different values from different places and throwing out the cheapest value, a basic algorithm, but it does solve a huge issue that people face: Where can I book a hotel at the cheapest price? And what more, the website has produced millions in revenues.

While there do exist some innovations such as computers, which was not an idea out of commonplace things but to convert the PC to a laptop did arise from it. By just noticing the rudimentary things in everyday life, it can be adapted into solving age-old issues. One just needs the zeal to identify the problems and a bit of imagination to come up with ideas and a bit more hard work to get that idea in everyone's hands.