The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Best leaders are those who value their team mates' opinions, are receptive to feedback and consistently make efforts to adapt their leadership styles on the basis of constructive criticisms. Thus, I believe that to be the best and most effective leader, one must encourage feedback from his or her team mates.

Leaders seeking feedback foster a culture of questioning the status quo and productive discussions within the team. Often times, by seeking feedback and holding healthy discussions, a leader is able to get a holistic view of his or her proposed plans. Brainstorming sessions and active feedback on the plan by team mates expose leaders to aspects that they had not envisioned. Constructive feedback helps leaders to refine and fortify their plans with the help of their team mates which ultimately leads to a higher rate of success. This point is best exemplified by Barack Obama's style in planning and leading the 2015 military mission to assassinate Osama Bin Laden, the leader of terrorist outfit Al-Qaeda. Several years in the making, this highly critical yet dangerous plan was not easy to draft. In a documentary on this subject, Barack Obama elucidates that it was the regular discussions with his advisory council that helped him draft a robust plan. He mentions how the council was split in half on whether to continue with this mission. With Joe Biden, then VP of the U.S., and his supporters playing the devil's advocate, Obama felt challenged by the constructive feedback he received on the loopholes in the plan. Obama's resolve to be highly receptive to and work on the feedback helped him and the military draft a bullet proof plan which lead to the eventual success of the mission.

Another reason why leaders must encourage constructive feedback from team mates is that such sessions prove to be pivotal to the success of the collective enterprise. According to a recent research published by Stanford, individuals are 74% more productive when they feel their opinions and ideas matter to their bosses and teams at large. This fosters a higher sense of ownership felt by the team members which ultimately leads to higher productivity gains. Thus, by regularly holding feedback sessions, a leader is able to extract the best out of his team and help realize their true potential.

Some might say that by seeking feedback, a leader would run the risk of indulging her team mates and seam holding a weak position. However, today's society is increasingly questioning the age old perception of being empathetic to others' opinions as a mark of weakness. Jamie Dimon, the CEO of J.P. Morgan, is known for holding spontaneous discussions with councils of the junior most emplyees in the organization to learn from them what the bank can do better and what can he do to make them feel empowered. Yet, this is not perceived as a sign of weakness but as that of a strong and thoughtful leader.