The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

This is a certainly an old but interesting topic. Indisputably, a strong argument will have higher chances to convince the opposing viewpoint, and to please those who agree with it. Nevertheless, saying that the former is the best test of an argument is going too far; I strongly disagree with this statement. And now, I shall show why.

An argument does not wield itself, same way that guns do not kill people, but people kill people with guns. Furthermore, the ability of scalpels to perform surgery without a surgeon to brandish them is nowadays highly criticized by patients, surgeons and even some other pieces of surgery equipment. Right now, perhaps close to you if you are in a university office, there are law students. Be not afraid of them, at least not yet. But be sure they could be where you least expect them to be. These creatures spend their time trying to defend arguments that are not right; they do not usually believe those arguments themselves. They are being educated in a sophistic way, so they can convince the opposing point of view through a solid argumentation that is definitely never manipulated in order to achieve their goals. Politicians tend to do this as well, they call it campaign; they usually do it before elections take place.

In addition to the argument bearer, one should focus on the argument receiver. Following those examples that have already been written above, so I do not distract you, the almighty reader, with even more things to think about, a fully grown lawyer would certainly be better at convincing the opposing viewpoint holder than a child, a rock or a cat. A good lawyer (good in a sense of the antonym of bad, not the antonym of evil) can convince a popular jury about the innocence of a person even if they thought at first that person killed someone. Politicians can be convincing too, sometimes. Especially if they are good (good in a sense of the antonym of bad, not the antonym of evil). Hitler did convince a lot of people if you think about it.

Even the argument itself can make a difference. I will try to explain myself. You have read this. You might have laughed, you might agree with me. Hope so, that would grant me better grades. But if I had developed this argument in a torpid, lazy, unoriginal, boring fashion, that might not be the case. Even I, the same person, and you, the same reader (not implying you are not a person, though I know there is also an e-reader involved. Please e-reader rest assured I am not trying to offend you in any way), would have acted differently towards the same argument.

We have reached our conclusion, the end of our written common journey. I hope that this argumentation has convinced you, even if you have an opposing point of view on the matter. Some people think that, apparently, that’s the best way to test an argument.