The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Just like the popular adage which says "United we stand, divided we fall", the topic of this issue revolves around this adage.

I mostly agree with the author's claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. However, there is a bit of a twist to this claim which will be addressed in the succeeding paragraphs.

To start with, to effectively lead it is important to collaborate and cooperate due to the fact that a tree does not make a forest. As a potential leader in different fields, it is important to be able to effectively work with various people across different races, backgrounds, and even age groups. Many a time, the best of achievement is always a result of collaboration between two or more willing individuals, and this is not any different in leadership. As a leader, the ability to tolerate and manage people effectively to get the best out of them is very important.

Furthermore, it has happened countlessly that the resources needed to drive a particular project can only be harnessed through cooperating with other individuals of like-mind. The need to aggregate people's strength to drive the success of a particular cause is only possible when the spirit of cooperation is promoted among the youth population. At the end of the day, they become better off and keep breaking boundaries with the power abound in cooperating to do things.

Although, cooperation is the best mantra, sometimes a healthy competition can help to wake up those youths falling into slumber. competition would help those who are not being productive wake-up, sit tight and do better since they know they can be outshined by a rival. Hence, the need to impress and do better than your counterpart can also build effective leadership skill in youths.

Hence, it is crystal clear that cooperation builds a better leadership skill than competition among youths.