“The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

it is imperative for the society to condition its upcoming generation in a manner that the torch of responsibility can be passed on to them with confidence and pride. there can be many ways to inculcate important values into the children and youth, but some believe that instilling a sense of cooperation and keeping away from having a competitive nature does the trick in the best possible way. I partially agree with this statement. I also believe that a sense of cooperation is invaluable, but the one of competition is equally crucial.

Firstly, we can not overlook the importance of having cooperative qualities. Once a student outgrows their school or college, they will be exposed to the world and its multi-faceted experiences, where they are bound to network and collaborate with others. being able to cooperate can help individuals to effectively communicate with each other and also accomodate occasional opinion differences. Take a corporate setting as an example, where the workforce is divided into several teams, members in which are expected to locally and globally coordinate to meet their goals and deadlines. Lacking abilities to cooperate in such an environment will only display serious impotency and result in subordinate results or failure, not just for a single member, but for a team or the company in a collective manner.

Moreover, it is seen that the most world leaders and successful personalities have great communication skills and soft skills, which can be gained only by interacting and coordinating with people. All of these can be acquired only when a person is emotionally and humbly fit to welcome foreign ideologies and adapting. Without having the potential to cooperate, none of these can be possibly gained. Imagine an individual who is unfortunately not a good team player. He/she may now be stuck in a vicious cycle where they are not getting accepted in groups for not having apt communicating abilities and they are unable to improve on the same because they are not getting admitted to any groups. Scenarios like these have the potential to bubble up in an adverse manner, resulting in loneliness, severe demotivation and shunned personal growth.

However, when we look back at the life stories of decorated personalities, we find that most of them shared a healthy (and in some cases, not so healthy) rivalry with someone who was arguably equally good. they were driven by the contest and in many occasions, both found themselves to be at massive heights, leaving all the mediocrity behind. this makes us wonder how far competition can drive us and how close can it push us towards something groundbreaking and extraordinary. History is the evidence that numerous individuals went on to achieve greatness after they were forced to think out of the box, because of the presence or threat of the possible fact that they may get outdone by someone.

On the top of this, we must accept that competition is a very real element of present day society. The fact that nobody is irreplaceable is the sweet poison that makes us overdo and overwork, but eventually leads us to something to be proud of. As the statement suggests, if we want to upbring our off-springs in a manner that they can assume leadership at pivotal positions and organizations, then they must gulp down the fact that they are not the only ones fighting to get there. having a competitive nature can not only make us realise of our limits but it can also lead us so far beyond them that we might get surprised by ownselves at times. Working in a team and being able to cooperate can get pointless if there will be no other team to compete with.