The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What seprates a leader from a ruler is a question, the answer of which must be made clear to the young and upcoming minds of any nation as soon as possible. The prompt suggests that the best way to prepare the young people of a society for leadership roles in various fields is by instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition among them. I mostly agree with the recommendation for three reasons.

To begin, if we go on to define the purpose of a leader and discuss the effects of a good leader on a group-- it is evident that one of the most significant reasons behind a group's success is the leadership it relied upon. Keeping this in mind, cooperation in a group would make success much more conducive than the toxic trait of competitiveness would. Thus a leader who himself believes in and practices cooperation is more likely to instill it into the group. For instance, when speaking of Mahatma Gandhi, one of the best and most widely known leaders in world history-- his life was one exemplifying the noble trait of cooperation. He did not try to compete with his fellow leaders in trying to be the ambassador of India's struggle for Independence, instead he embraced the traits and qualities brought by different personalities fighting for the same cause and lead all of them to success on the foundation of cooperation. Therefore, to create leaders that would even surpass the giants of the past, an even stronger sense of cooperation must be enlightened upon the young minds of a society.

Further, a leader is only as good as his team and a team flourishes under a cooperative leadership as the efforts and contributions brought in by every member are acknowledged in a positive manner rather than disheartingly belittled by comparing to those of other team members. For instance, if the manager of a group of aspiring young employees is trying to make them work towards an innovative goal, he/she can kill the future bright ideas of an employee by comparing his weak traits to someone else. On the other hand, if he sets up a cooperative environment, all the variety of skillsets can work together to achieve and surpass the set goals.

However, I believe that along with cooperation some sense of positive competitiveness is necessary to be inculcated in young minds. A leader is who represnts a society or a team and if he cannot compete well enough with other teams in a race, he will be the one to bare the responsibility for their failure. For example in sports, it is always clear than along with cooperation a captain needs to have the sense of competitiveness against the opposition in order to bring out the team's best performance and become successful.

To conclude, I would say that cooperation and competition are the two sides of a coin both important at their place and it will always be difficult to set one of them as a fundamental base for the growth of a leader. Yet, there is no true leader who does not have the traits of being cooperative with his team.