The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in a government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Throughout human history, there has been little time when a society flourished without a leader of some sort. People in different fields have constantly debated whether cooperation or competition is more important for a successful leader. In discussing how to educate younger generations for leadership, some, such as the provided prompt, believe that the best way to prepare young people is to instill in them a sense of cooperation. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this viewpoint for the following two reasons, though I do concede that competition is also important.

To begin with, cooperation instead of competition sits at the basis of many difficult tasks; therefore, emphasizing the significance of cooperation at a young age should take priority. For example, in the discovery and invention of the initial CRISPR system, a tool that can cut a piece of DNA at specified locations and helps scientists modify genes, there exists a widely known competition between the Doudna-Charpentier groups and the Zhang group. However, numerous people worked on this project on both sides, and had it not been the group effort, the CRISPR system might not have been discovered because it is almost impossible for a single individual to accomplish this on their own. It is then safe to say that the significance of collaboration precedes that of competition. Many advancements in various fields were possible only because of cooperation. As a result, instilling a sense of cooperation in young people should be the priority.

In addition, learning how to cooperate also cultivates an individual's mind on a personal level, helping one become more amicable. Consider two students who are taught differently on leadership. A student whose teacher instills competition first will see the world full of enmity as they think everyone wants to gain advantage of them; as a result, this student is very likely to treat their peers defensively, losing many potential friendships. On the other hand, a student whose teacher chooses to priorize a sense of cooperation will see the world full of opportunities that they are free to explore; therefore, they are more open-hearted and are more willing to make connections to other people. An individual is often more malleable at younger age because fewer ideas are instilled in their minds and for shorter time. Moreover, humans are social animals. Therefore, underscoring the sense of cooperation while preparing one for leadership is extremely important as it helps an individual become more accepted socially.

However, I do concede that a sense of competition should not be neglected during the leadership education because young people need to practice when to compete and when to concede. For instance, maintaining good foreign relations while earning benefits for one's country is an intricate task and requires a delicate balance. Since resources are limited, besides learning how to protect a nation's external relationships, a young political science student should also study how to gain the most benefit for their country without disrupting the stable status quo.

To conclude, while a sense of competition is also crucial for a successful leader and cannot be overlooked, instilling a sense of cooperation in young people should be prioritized since it more directly contributes to scientific advancements and can make one a more socially acceptable person.