"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Which one is better, a competitive leader or a cooperating leader? The author argues that in order to foster a good leader, a society should require younger generation a sense of cooperation than competition. I strongly agree with the statement, because of the increasing need of cooperative skills in government and industry, in particular, media industry.

First of all, not a single person can be better than a collaborative mind. Especially, for political leaders, who need to understand diverting perspectives of people and create a consensus upon a variety of issues, it is a must to have a sense of cooperation. Take presidents, for instance, they need to govern the whole country. They might be an expert of a few number of fields, but they could never have an excellence in all the fields that is needed to lead the country. To become a better leader and govern the country more efficiently, the presidents should know how to rely on the experts’ insight and how to effectively adapt them to their policies. Therefore, learning the way to collaborate is a necessity to young people who wants to be a leader.

Secondly, in order to become a business leader, being cooperative is a much more important value than being competitive. Communicative and cooperative leader is what makes a business successful, as it is impossible to yield a desirable result without cooperating. For example, in the movie industry, nothing is done in solitary. Not only directors and actors needed, but also a numerous numbers of staffs who deals with camera, lighting, sound, and every other thing that is needed for the production. Without knowing how to properly communicating with them and be harmonious with other people, a leader cannot be a true leader.

Nevertheless, there might be people arguing about the importance of the competition over cooperation when it comes to becoming a leader, saying people have to compete to get to the place of leading in front of others. However, they are missing my point. It is true that competition takes place in the process of becoming the leader, but here, I am discussing about becoming a ‘good’ leader who can lead people with confidence and kindness, which cannot be accomplished only with competitive soul.

In conclusion, a society should teach young people how to cooperate than compete with others to foster them as future leaders. Even though competition is might needed to get the place of leader, collaborative mind is the essence of a true leadership, which makes a leader a leader.