Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your r

Has creating a positive image become more important than the reality behind it? In this statement, the answer is yes. Indeed, in contemporary society, with emergence of a variety of medium from television to instagram, it is undeniable that what is shown to others has become a priority. As we are living in a constant surveillance, managing a positive image has become a huge part of our lives. In a longer term, however, image yields its way to reality.

Maintaining a positive, distinctive image is not a choice, but a must to businesses. Take a smart phone industry, for example. At the earlier period, including a new function, or posing a distinctive design was considered important. However, as the technology takes steps further, it is almost impossible to differentiate one from the others with respect of its functional or aesthetical aspects. The image that the brand possesses becomes the most considered factor when choosing a mobile device. Apple’s Iphone is winning more of younger generations’ mind because young people are attracted to the idea of iphone, which is represented as ‘young, innovative, liberal’. On the other hand, Samsung’s Galaxy is suggesting more professional, technical, conservative image, which is appealing more to relatively older professionals. Like this, constructing image has become a priority among businesses, because image is what appeals to customer’s mind.

For politicians, especially presidential candidates, constructing a positive image decides whether they could be elected or not. After the invention of a television and on-line media, being politician has become all about being ‘seen as a qualified candidate’. Unlike local politics who can actually reveal themselves in their local communities, it is relatively rare thing for presidential candidates to meet electives in person and show their real selves. Instead, politicians talk to people with their images in media. For example, former president of Korea, Park, take advantage of her father, who was a former president/dictator of Korea, contributed to huge economic growth of Korea in 1960s, said to be a charismatic leader. Although she was neither capable of making a decent speech nor has a sufficient political experience, she has successfully constructed her image as having a charismatic leadership just like her father, and as having sophisticate knowledge over the economy. With that, Park was elected as a president.

Nevertheless, in the longer term, reality behind the image matters too. Focusing solely on the creation and maintenance of an appealing image without considering the reality or truth behind it, is often followed by a shocking reveal of the truth and a decadence of an individual, a corporation. Returning back to President Park’s example, her indecisiveness had rose up to surface and people found out that in reality, she was relying on her close friend, who is far from being an expert of any field of politics, when she makes important decisions for the country. This fact was revealed by JTBC, Korean News Company, and followed by a huge protest shouting for her impeachment. Although her ready-made image has fooled many people, in the long term, reality took place and made things right.

In conclusion, in our contemporary society, creating and maintaining an appealing image is indeed, an important matter. For corporations who have to build the brand image to sell products, and for politicians who are in constant surveillance of media, positive image is a priority. Nevertheless, the truth or reality cannot be hidden forever, and when it is revealed, it could have a significant impact on the image.