Some people think that it is a good idea to buy a new technological device as soon as it is available. Others think that it is better to wait until many people have bought it. Which do you think is better?

Nowadays, numerous numbers of new technological devices are coming out on a daily basis. A technology once seemed promising become old-fashioned in a few months, and other products take its place. One that satisfies people stays, and one that fails vanishes. In this kind of modern society, is buying a product with ‘new’, ‘high-end’, ‘cutting-edge’ technology a good idea? In my opinion, there is no point of getting a brand-new product with a new technology rather than waiting until many people have tried it. In this essay, I will provide three reasons-making wise consumer decision, saving money, and avoiding possible dangers- to support this opinion.

First of all, by waiting for others to fully use the new technological device, people can make a better decision. These days, a variety of online communities provide consumers with reviews of other consumers. If an individual buy a new product right away, it is impossible for him or her to read different reviews and compare the advantages and shortcomings of the product with other existing products. This can lead to a poor decision.

Secondly, you can save money by having patience over buying a brand-new technological device. It is not uncommon for the new products to lower its price after some time has passed in order to compete with other products coming out following the product. Although waiting until many people have bought the product will not 100% ensure the lowered price, it is true that you are paying the most if you buy the new product right away. According to a research held by Korea university market research lab, cost of a smart phone a month after its release is 70% of that of a smart phone just released. That being said, if you can wait, there is a higher chance of you saving money.

Finally, there is always a possible danger of a newly applied technology. As there are not enough actual consumers who have tried it, there is no guarantee that a new technological device is safe. For example, in 2017, the new Galaxy note 8 was released to global market. The note series, having royal consumers, were sold out in a fast pace. However, it did not take long for people to discover that the Galaxy note has a possibility to explode in a certain circumstances. Imagine if you have bought it as soon as it was available. You could have been the victim of the explosion.

To sum up, it is clear that waiting for other people to buy a newly available device is a better decision than buying it right away, as you can read reviews of others, save money, and avoid possible risks by waiting.