Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Do we learn more from others whose ideas we share in common than from those whose ideas contradict ours? The statement claims so, we usually do because disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning. I concede that endless disagreement can cause impaired learning. Otherwise, in my view we learn far more from discourse and debate with those whose ideas we oppose than from people whose ideas are in accord with our own.

Admittedly, under certain circumstances disagreement with others can be counterproductive to learning. For example, on today’s typical television or radio talk show, disagreement usually shows itself in a form of meaningless rebuttal and shouting matches. They often seem to have no interest in finding merits of the opponents’ viewpoint and searching for a common ground. Of course, neither the viewers nor the participants can take a meaningful lesson from this kind of debate. The end result is that learning is impeded.

Disagreement can also inhibit learning when two opposing views disagree on fundamental assumptions. For example, the discourse between a creationist who believes that God has created the world and every living creature in the world with his words and a evolutionist who thinks that all the living species are a result of evolution will be endless and nearly impossible to reach to a certain amount of consent. The bedrock of their assumption is fundamentally different and incompatible. In this case, debating upon a origin of species will be totally meaningless, and probably stressful, causing inhibited learning.

Aside from the conditions mentioned above, however, I fundamentally disagree with the speaker’s claim. Assuming common ground between two opinion and reasonable opponents who are willing to debate on intellectual merits, both opponents can gain much from that debate. In fact, such debate has been the primary source of academic advancement for scholars. For example, Carl Jung, the psychologist was a disciple of Freud, who was deeply concerned about subconscious of human, successfully constructed his own academic world by taking merits of his teacher’s theories and refuting the existing theory and providing new explanations at the same time. If it were not for Carl posing opposition to Freud’s idea, there would not have been a such improvement in psychology.

In addition, even in our daily lives, we can learn from people who have contradicting views. Teenagers often have conflicting view with their parents who want them to behave properly. Although this conflict seems like a never ending one, by taking account of each others’ position, the parents can learn valuable lesson about effective parenting, and the teenagers can learn how certain behaviors naturally carry certain undesirable consequences.

In sum, unless two opponents in a debate are each willing to play on the same field and by the same rules, I concede that disagreement can impede learning. Otherwise, reasoned discourse and debate between people with opposing viewpoints is the very foundation upon which academic progress has taken place, and is valued in our daily life settings.