4. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants."Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little

In this memorandum, the business manager of a television station is suggesting to restore the time spent to weather and local news in their late-night news program to its former level, which is a year ago. He claims that recent complaints of viewers were mostly about the decresed coverage of weather and local news, and the local advertisers have canceled their contracts with same a same reason. However, without any further evidence, the recommendation seems dubious.

Fundamentally, the manager constructs his suggestion on the basis of the idea that the time devoted to weather and local news in their late-night show has decreased significantly. However, without stating the exact proportion of the changed coverage, it will be erroneous to make a conclusion. What if the total amount of change is less then 3 minuite which is only 5% of the total time? Does that change is significant enough to cause viewers' complain and cancelation of advertisement? The manager should first provide a concret evidence on the exact time change and the effect of it.

Also, the specific number of complaints received should be provided. The manager simply stated 'most of the complaints', but a total number of the viewers, a total number of the complaints, and the amount of complaints regarding the decreased time spent on local and weather news is needed to decide whether the argument is valid. For example, if the television station has received a total of 10 complaints over the past year, and 8 of them are about the decreased coverage of local and weather news. It can be said that most of the complaints were about the issue, but if the average total number of the viewers was more than 20,000, the complaints seem relatively trivial.

In addition, there is a need of evidence to prove that the local businesses has canceled their advertisement recently solely because of the lack of coverage. There could be tons of alternative reasons such as the late-night show has lost its credibility as a news program because of the recent scandal of the new host, or the local businesses themselves are crashing because of the economic crisis and they are canceling the advertisement to cut the expenses. Also, by increasing the national news coverage, advertisement contracts with bigger, nationwide companies could have been made recently.

As the manager should first provide the statistical evidence that can show that the decrease of local and weather news coverage was significant, and the viewers’ complaints about it was also significant enough. He also needs to ask local companies who has recently withdrawn the contract the reason why they canceled it.