Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company (SS Production) claims that the company should spend more money on the advertising as a mean of reaching to wider public. The director stated that even though the number of viewers attended the SS Production’s movie has decreased, percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased, and the director interpreted that as a sign of failure of advertising, which hinders the high quality of movies to be known among wider public. This recommendation might seem plausible, but as allocating budget of a company is such an important matter, the director must answer a number of questions before asserting the need of investment on the advertisement; Is reviewers’ opinions always in accordance with general public’s opinion?

First of all, the director needs to answer in an exact numerous scale, how fewer people attended the SS Productions’ movies than other years. It is stated that fewer number of people have watched their movies, but the director did not provide the actual number of people who watched movie in other years and during the past year. If the decreased number is fairly small, for instance, 2 years ago, 100 people watched the movie, but during last year, 98 people did. In this scenario, if true, concluding that the shrinkage of viewers is sufficient enough to call for a significant change such as a reallocation of budget. Even if the number of people decreased noticeably, the director still needs to answer whether it is because of the lack of advertisement.

Secondly, it is unclear that how many more percentage of positive reviews has increased. The director merely stated that the percentage of the good reviews have increased, but did not mentioned the total number or exact percentage difference of positive reviews of other years and last year. Furthermore, even if the positive review has increased, still the question of whether the positively reviewed movie is a good movie for general viewers, or can it even qualifies a movie as a high quality remains. Often, movies loved by critics are not welcomed among the public. As the primary concern of the SS Production is the decreased number of viewers, the director should answer these questions.

In addition, even after assuming that the number of viewers has indeed shrunken, and the positive reviews, which actually indicates the high quality of the movie, remained the same as stated, one more question remains: Will the problems be solved if the company rises the share of advertising of its budget? The shrinkage of viewers might be due to the general economic conditions, or screen quarters of the SS Production movies are weak, or even because of the fellow opened blockbusters which dragged all the viewers. In this case, if true, will seriously weaken the director’s claim.