"Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study." Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Should university students focus exclusively on their particular field of study or study various subjects other than their major? One might achieve a deeper understanding of a particular subject by exclusively studying it, but most of major achievement of a field comes from exploring various fields of studies and having more of a comprehensive insight. Therefore, I strongly agree with the suggestion that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside one’s field of study as widen perspectives gained by exploring other fields is crucial to a further success, and taking various courses help students to have more variety in their interpersonal relationships.

Nowadays, lines between different fields of studies are getting blurred. To make a single remark in a particular field, a scholar must have wide enough perspective to see those various subjects and utilizing them properly into his or her own studies. For example, for an archeologist to successfully excavate and reveal important factor about a certain period, she will need a geologist to analyze the soil and verify the exact period, a historian to figure out which period does the remains belong, a sociologist to find out the culture and social gatherings of the people that time, and many more. Even in the field of pure science like physics, understanding of various physical phenomena by looking through the lens of many different studies is a necessity. Therefore, students need experience in various fields to widen their perspectives, and university is a perfect place to explore by taking different courses.

Furthermore, taking different courses can help students to get to meet wider diversity of people from many different fields. University students usually hang around with students with same major, unless they join a sorority or other sort of clubs. Among students whose fields of interest are relatively similar, opinions and ideas are more likely to be reinforced and circulated than be rebutted and argued upon. Sharing similar opinions could be more comfortable and less bothering, but it does not lead to an academic growth or to creative ideas. By taking courses from different majors, students can easily make friends who are interested in different field of studies and the general relationship and discussion between them is more likely to lead them a step further.

Admitting all these perks of taking various courses outside one’s specific major, some people might say that a university making ‘every’ student to take courses that are not their field of study as a mandatory is just a bit too much. However, if the university does not force student to take various courses, they are more likely to stick to their own field of study as it is much easier to get a good grade. This kind of phenomenon actually happened in my university. At first, the university just ‘allowed’ and ‘encouraged’ students to take courses from other majors, but not many students actually did it. Fully acknowledging the benefit of exploring various fields of study, the university had made it mandatory, and it turned out that not only students’ academic growth has increased; also their satisfaction toward the university’s curriculum has risen.

In conclusion, while it might seem too forceful of university to demand students to take courses outside of their major, considering its benefits, university should require students to do it.