Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your r

Has creating a positive image become more important than the reality behind it? In this statement, the answer is yes. Indeed, in contemporary society, with emergence of a variety of medium from television to instagram, it is undeniable that what is shown to others has become a priority. As we are living in a constant surveillance, managing a positive image has become a huge part of our lives. From a long-term point of view, however, reality behind the image matters too.

Maintaining a positive, distinctive image is not a choice, but a must to businesses. Take a smart phone industry, for example. At the earlier period, including a new function, or posing a distinctive design was considered important. However, as the technology takes steps further, it is almost impossible to differentiate one from the others with respect of its functional or aesthetical aspects. The image that the brand possesses becomes the most considered factor when choosing a mobile device. Apple’s Iphone is winning more of younger generations’ mind because young people are attracted to the idea of iphone, which is represented as ‘young, innovative, liberal’. On the other hand, Samsung’s Galaxy is suggesting more professional, technical, conservative image, which is appealing more to relatively older professionals. Like this, constructing image has become a priority among businesses, because image is what appeals to customer’s mind.

For politicians, especially presidential candidates, constructing a positive image decides whether they could be elected or not. After the invention of a television and on-line media, being politician has become all about being ‘seen as a qualified candidate’. Unlike local politics who can actually reveal themselves in their local communities, it is relatively rare thing for presidential candidates to meet electives in person and show their real selves. Instead, politicians talk to people with their images in media.