A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Is it possible to properly educate every student with a single curriculum? The statement claims that a country should make a national curriculum and require every students to follow that curriculum. Although it might seem as a convenient way to educate students, it could be problematic because it fail to take account of students' individual difference which might lead to lost of motivation and inefficiency.

First of all, the matter of who will be deciding what subjects should be included in the curriculum and what should not, is questionable. If the government will enforcing every school to teach according to a single curriculum, the contents of it should be with high quality and should not be biased. However, there is no guarantee that the national curriculum satisfies that standards, and even if it does now, there is a possibility of it being criticized by later generations. Therefore, as there is no such thing as a single perfect curriculum, it will be risky to require every students to follow uniform curriculum.

Secondly, having a single curriculum nationally will deter students’ motivation and ability to study because it could hardly satisfy the heterogeneous demand of students. Usually there is a variety of choices available for students. Students who are interested in playing musical instruments can choose to enroll in a music school and who have a deep interest in natural science can choose science-specialized school. However, if every single schools have the same curriculum, the individual differences between students will be ignored and they will all have to study the exact same thing. Studying the same things that they do not want, or even need, students’ motivation to study will decline.

In addition, unified curriculum nationwide will lead to a more severe competition between students. It is true the single curriculum will make it easier for colleges to compare the academic ability between students nationwide, and decide whether they can enter the university or not. Nevertheless, this will form a synchronized standard of a ‘good student‘, and make students to compete even more to be that good student.

In conclusion, making every students to study will a unified curriculum nationally is a risky decision as it could undermine the motivation of students and intensify the competition and because the matter of ‘what’ curriculum should be required remains questionable.