The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this argument, the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants claims that all of the branches of the Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the country should provide margarine instead of butter. The manager points out that only a few customers has complained about the change made in the restaurants located in the southwestern part of United states, and they are even unable to distinguish butter and margarine, so all of the other Happy Pancake House restaurants should apply this change to save money. Nevertheless, this recommendation is based on faulty assumptions.

First of all, the author is assuming that the replacement of butter with margarine in southwestern branches was held for an enough period time to collect valid data. As the manager is suggesting a major change to his or her company based on the data derived from the recent tryout in southwestern branches, clarifying how long did they applied the change matters a lot. If butter has been replaced by margarine for only one day and all the data provided in the memorandum is based on that single day, it will be hard to take those data as valid and further generalize the outcome. Therefore, without the exact information about how long has this change from butter to margarine been applied, assuming the data driven from southwestern branches’ case is valid will be faulty.

Secondly, believing that customers are satisfied with the change because only 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint could be problematic. What if there are customers who are not mad about the change but not really happy at the same time? What if the process of claiming the dissatisfaction is so complicated that people with complaint often fail to submit official form? Concluding that everyone but that 2 percent who has officially shown their dissatisfaction is happy with the replacement could be erroneous.

Next, though many customers who received margarine instead of butter did not complain, assuming the reason is mainly because they are unable to differentiate between the two or the term they use is just the same for the two could be risky. With my common sense, distinguishing margarine and butter with bare eyes is not easy. However, by actually using them while cooking, people can say the difference with their smell and taste. As the author is citing the servers’ report, the report probably does not include the portion of the customers who later found out the difference. In addition, the author is saying that ‘many’ servers have reported and no one can actually know how many is considered as ‘many’ if the author does not cites the concrete number or percentage. So, this assumption is based on unwarranted facts.

Even if all the previous assumptions that the manager has made turned out to be true, almost all of the customers are happy with the replacement and not many people can distinguish margarine from butter, they are all based on the customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants that are located in the southwestern part of the country. There is no guarantee that all of the customers of other restaurants located nationwide will accept the change as the same way the southwestern people did. It is possible that majority of southwestern dishes does not really distinguish the use of butter and margarine, so they are less sensitive to the change, but the eastern part of the country’s recipes often divide the use of margarine and butter. If that is the case, customers in the eastern part of US will react differently than the southwestern people.