the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other fields is by instilling in them the sense of cooperation, not competition

The author's claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or any other fields is by insilling in them the sense of cooperation, not competition is a contentious one. While each sides, progressing with cooperation or competition have their strengths and weakness along with many examples in day to day life which i shall discuss the same in following paragraphs.

A healthy competition is usually considered as a strong pillar for advancements. Competition helps in unfolding the strong desire to achieve before others and success entails. Consider one of the great rivelary of technology age, Apple vs Microsoft or Steve Jobs vs Bill Gates which turned the modern era with computer technology. Desktops, laptops, PDAs, handsets, thin & sleek mobile phones, etc. all these and that too in a very less time of 7-12 years changed the whole way we use to communicate with each others and brought the world closer. This was possible only because of the strong desire to be better than the other, a healthy competition one may call.

Furthermore, we can take example of aeroplane industry. Advancement of that was again the result of neck to neck competition between Wright brothers and Curtiss. A rivelary so strong that it changed the way wars were fought. Starting from manual wooden air plane, Wright brothers were able to make new models from time to time only because of the strong challange given by Curtiss who introduced the first engine driven air plane. Likewise, there are many examples in almost all the industries where technological advancements took place at a very high pace because of competition or one can say, the desire to be the first one.

So can we conclude that, competition is all we need to teach the young ones to succeed. The answer is "No". As one has righly said, "I you want to go fast, go alone, but if you want to go far, go together". One cannot deny the power of cooperation. Which acts as a very strong pillar for sustenance. A very good example we can take from the rivelary of Wright brothers and Curtiss, is that, at the end their organisation collaborated for sustanence of all the developments they did competiting with each other.

Similarly, we can take example of the music industry, where people colaborate on numerous occasions, corporate functions, tours, national events, etc to learn from other artists. As we all know the fact that one cannot know everything, cooperation is one of the best way to bridge that gap, no matter if its music industry, leadership in govenment, or other fields. With cooperation you can experience the best of others and take life long learning.

With all the examples for both sides presented above, I would like to conclude that competition is good for succeeding and advance in a very positive and fast way but one should not avoid cooperation as its the strongest force that helps in sustaining.